Your Name (2016) Review


Verdict: Magical

Great visuals with a magical story.

Review

Mitsuha (voiced by Mone Kamishiraishi) finds herself having frequent dreams of living a city boy’s life. After a few episodes, she realizes that it isn’t a dream, and that when she is the boy, the boy is her. She finds out his name is Taki (Ryunosuke Kamiki), and they communicate by leaving notes in each other’s phones. When the sudden body switching stops, a purpose for them to have come into contact with each other arises. Directed by Makoto Shinkai.

I don’t think I will ever grow tired of watching Japanese anime movies. I don’t think of them as cartoons (which would be Hollywood creations), as I find that Japanese anime have more depth to their stories. I wrote a post about the differences for my film studies course awhile back. You can check that out here.

When the movie started, I was a bit disoriented, as the first few scenes had fast cuts, and I hadn’t been grounded yet. There is a lot of time travel and this does get confusing throughout the film, but I wasn’t very bothered by it. I’d say that the constant time shifts actually add to the mystery of the story, as you’re always trying to figure out where in the timeline you’ve jumped to.

The animation is great, with vivid colors and great lighting effects. I can’t imagine how difficult and time consuming it is to make graphics look realistic. I just enjoy the finished product. Very detailed work. I think there is more of a 3D depth to anime than there is with cartoons. Just something about their technique gives it so much more aesthetics. Or perhaps it is also the vast range of colors that are used.

The story keeps you guessing as it progresses, and that’s what makes it so magical. Anything can happen next, and you don’t see it coming. I was thoroughly invested with the story and found the script to be both comedic and culturally aware. The two main characters are quite different from each other, but both are headstrong and their stubbornness is fun to watch.

Overall, this is a great fantastical film to watch, for both the old and the young.

To sum-up:
PROS: Story, characters, visuals
CONS: A little slow at times, some confusing time shifts

I give this a 9/10.

Have you seen Your Name? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

