Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015) Review


Verdict: Exciting

Great visuals and interesting characters, but a generic narrative.

Review

Finn (John Boyega) helps Poe (Oscar Isaac) escape from The First Order, and pretends to be part of the resistance. He meets Rey (Daisy Ridley) and together they help to protect BB-8 from being captured by The First Order. On their adventure, they meet Han Solo (Harrison Ford) and Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew). Directed by J.J. Abrams.

I would just like to put it out there, that I am not what you would call a ‘fan’ of Star Wars. [So for fans, I guess you can stop reading now] I do not actually think I have watched a full Star Wars film before now, thus, I do not get the references or who the characters are. This review then, would be from a point of view of a casual viewer.

Again, I watched this on a plane, and so missed a few scenes. Overall though, I think I watched most of the movie.

The action is all very well done and the visuals spectacular. It must cost a bomb to create the costumes and settings for the scenes. It really is amazing how the film-makers are able to create a whole other universe that looks so tangible. The visual effects are pretty cool too.

Ridley and Boyega are likeable as the two alternating protagonists, and their characters are well developed. They play their roles well, and this allowed the film to segregate itself from other Star Wars films. Introducing new characters (correct me if I’m wrong) to an already established series is always a gamble, but in this instance it paid off. Now they can continue the series for another trilogy.

I especially liked how Rey is portrayed as a strong woman and she frequently points out how she can take care of herself. In this way the film tries to display feminist views, but still does not go all the way. I mean the only other woman character of importance in the film is Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher). Looking at the cast, it does seem like there are quite a few female actresses, so at least the film is making an effort to be equal.

Though I like the two protagonists, the story is a little generic for me. There’s fighting, capture, escape, fighting, rescue, fighting, and scene. Perhaps, it’s because I do not know much of the story which is why I found it to be pretty basic. For other casual viewers, the film is a nice way to pass the time for great visuals and action. However, you won’t turn into an instant fan after watching it, and it doesn’t give much in terms of narrative development.

To sum-up:
PROS: Acting, characters, visual, feminist views
CONS: Basic story

I give this an 7/10.

Have you seen Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

