Furious 7 (2015) Review


Verdict: Typical

Repetitive story with fast cars, action and average acting.

Review

Deckard Shaw (Jason Statham) is out to get revenge for his brother who is in critical condition due to Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) and his crew: Brian (Paul Walker), Letty (Michelle Rodriguez), Roman (Tyrese Gibson), Tej (Ludacris) and the help of Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson). Shaw threatens the family and Toretto aims to stop him; what ensues is a lot of fights, cars, and gunfire. Directed by James Wan.

I’m going to start by saying that I do not like these kinds of movies, and they hold no attraction for me anymore. Stories based on revenge and action, and men being all masculine showing off their muscles and justifying killings and destruction. Not to mention the objectifying of the female body. Is it really necessary to have women extras walking around almost naked and having close-ups of their asses? NO. I really cannot stress this enough, and how I really cannot stand movies that do this.

The story seems really identical to the other films. Though I did not watch all the movies I do remember watching the 6th one and the 3rd one, and this series is just so formulaic. Bad guys, crew members who are like family taking the bad guys down, authorities stepping in, destruction, guns and fast cars. There isn’t really anything new with the films and I really wonder what makes it so popular.

That’s about all I’ve got to say. Nice cars, cool races and action with some verging on impossible. But I’m getting tired of watching films based on action and masculinity. For heaven’s sake The Rock tensed his muscles and his cast came off! A super cheesy and super wtf moment.

Also, I was wondering how they ended up fixing Paul Walker’s parts, and it actually isn’t very noticeable. I think his nose looks a teensy bit sharper towards the end, because they were using CGI effects in addition to the help of Walker’s brothers but it could still go unnoticeable. There are quite a few scenes in the film in which had me thinking they had an editing problem though. Some lines would be repeated and some of the same shots played over again in the same sequence. I don’t know what happened there.

To sum-up:
PROS: Cool action, visuals and CGI
CONS: Nothing new, average acting, centred on macho-ness, objectification of women, editing

I give this a 4/10.

Have you seen Furious 7? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

