X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014) Review


Verdict: Cool stuff

Great visuals and ensemble of characters but plot was pretty average.

Review

Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) has his consciousness sent back in time by Kitty (Ellen Page) to stop Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) from assassinating someone that would cause a ripple effect which would eventually lead the world to doom. He meets the younger Xavier (James McAvoy) and Beast (Nicholas Hoult), and they enlist the help of Quicksilver (Evan Peters) to break Magneto (Michael Fassbender) out of the prison he’s held in. The ‘present’ world consists of Iceman (Shawn Ashmore), Bishop (Omar Sy), Blink (Bingbing Fan– whom I’ve come to relate myself to) and Storm (Halle Berry) among others. I just love Blink’s powers and this was even before I realized that Fan and I are both Chinese and born on the same day. Coincidence? I think not. (I am secretly her)

Having only watched one of the previous X-Men films, I wasn’t really expecting much. But after watching this, it rekindled the little kid in me that used to watch the animated X-Men shows on television. It was great to see all kinds of mutants (and actors/actresses) with different powers, even though I didn’t know their background. Cool stuff. The visuals and effects were really well done. It seemed like a more mature film then I had imagined based on the previous films.

The acting too was on point, everyone played their parts and got into their characters really well. At one point I even consciously acknowledged this when McAvoy as Xavier was concentrating really hard and you could see the vein on his forehead bulge out. The character developments are also well explored and it showed on screen. The character of Quicksilver is a really good addition. He added a comedic effect and the slow motion scenes were great and accurately complimented the character.

However there are quite a few things I have a problem with, mainly with the plot. It seemed a bit too easy for Wolverine to convince the younger Xavier and Magneto to believe him, when he didn’t really do much himself. And why are Xavier and Magneto the only ones ageing? There’s a strong difference between the characters from the past and present..hmm now that I think about it, it’s probably because the rest of the mutants weren’t in the present (with the exception of Wolverine who’s immortal). OK like I said, I didn’t watch the other films. I’m wanting to now though.

Anyway, it was a really cool film, with cool characters and a kind of cool plot. It’s just that it kind of made everything seem…redundant. If you’ve watched it, you’ll get what I mean.

To sum-up:
PROS: Visuals, acting, action, character development
CONS: Redundant plot

I give this a 8/10.

Have you watched X-Men: Days of Future Past? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

One thought on “X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014) Review

  1. Pingback: X-Men: Apocalypse (2016) Review | championangels

Leave a Reply

