R.I.P.D. (2013) Review


Verdict: Quite funny

A pretty much used story-line but with a bunch of comedy.

Review

Nick (Ryan Reynolds) is a Boston cop who dies and is recruited into the Rest In Peace Department. He is assigned to Roy (Jeff Bridges) and together they hunt down the deados. Kevin Bacon plays Hayes, Nick’s partner when he was alive and Stephanie Szostak plays Julia, Nick’s wife.

And because Nick and Roy are dead they can’t look like themselves, thus the scenes with the juxtaposition of their avatars make for a continuous laugh. Roy’s avatar is a hot girl (Marisa Miller) and Nick’s, an old Chinese guy (James Hong). I wish that they’d had more screen time but with what they had, they did really well. I laughed every time.

I’ve seen other reviews that didn’t quite share my views on this. I guess since I’m not really one to watch movies like this (E.G. MIB) so I don’t have anything to compare it to and thought it was pretty good. Anyways, to each his/her own.

A few things that could have made it better: Roy has this really heavy cowboy accent and I know it fits his character but quite a lot of the times I had a hard time trying to figure out what he was saying. Also as I mentioned earlier, more screen-time for their avatars.

I give this a 7/10.

Have you watched R.I.P.D.? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

