The Heat (2013) Review


Warning: This movie is rated R/ above 18 years of age

Verdict: HILARIOUS

A lot of swearing but it was absolutely hilarious!

Review:

The Heat is a buddy-cop film with an uptight female FBI agent, Ashburn (Sandra Bullock) teaming up with anything goes Boston cop, Mullins (Melissa McCarthy). From the trailer I didn’t really know it was going to be so vulgar, and it was very. However if there was less profanity from Mullins, it would’ve broke her character so I guess that’s why it worked. I’m not really a fan, as a matter of fact I avoid films with lots of swearing but this film really had me laughing.

Bullock’s character here reminds me of her role in the Ms. Congeniality films but the only similarity is that she’s an FBI agent. Though her demeanor is similar as well.

McCarthy I first saw in Bridesmaids and I remembered her as being the character with all the random lines which made it comedic. In this film, most of her sentences cannot get by without an input of the F bomb, but because the audience sees that she’s trying her best to bring justice to her Boston area her vulgarity isn’t seen in a negative light.

Looking back, there were parts of the film which might have been pretty flat, but in this case flat was higher than other films with flat parts. If that makes sense. It’s because the audience will still be laughing at a previous event that the flat parts don’t seem so flat. So it was a good flat.

In addition, this was too much of a comedy. What I mean by that is that even the serious parts in the film had me smothering a laugh. For example, Ashburn gets a knife in the thigh and I’m trying not to laugh because that’s not funny. No it’s not. But I was laughing. Maybe the definition of a good comedy is that it will have you laughing in serious situations.

Other cast members include; Demian Bichir as Hale, Ashburn’s boss
Marlon Wayans as Levy, the Boston FBI agent
Michael Rapaport as Jason Mullins, Mullins’ brother
Spoken Reasons (professional youtuber) as Rojas
Michael McDonald as Julian
and Taran Killam as Adam (HE’S MARRIED TO COBIE SMULDERS!!!! =O )

This film really had me laughing and smacking my knees. A woman sitting behind me was laughing a bit too loudly but I forgive her, I understand. Go watch this! (18<)

I rate this with a 9/10.

Have you watched The Heat? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

One thought on “The Heat (2013) Review

  1. Pingback: Spy (2015) Review | championangels

Leave a Reply

