Cloud Atlas (2012) Review


Verdict: Impactful

A good story-line, but was hard to follow. It will however leave an impression for a long time.

Review:

Having not read the book written by David Mitchell, I was utterly confused throughout the film. It switches from the many plots it tells but still using the same actors. I counted about 5 major plot lines however some interlink so I am not entirely sure.

I have to applaud the actors in this film as they had several characters to portray, the most having 6. #Respect. I’ll just list them down: Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Jim Broadbent, Hugo Weaving, Jim Sturgess, Hugh Grant, Doona Bae, Ben Whishaw, Keith David, James D’Arcy and Xun Zhou.

The make-up and costumes really do a fantastic job; only after watching the credits did I realize that the main actors were in every plot and some of them surprised me very much. Shit…seriously they look nothing like themselves. For example I was wondering who the actor playing Hae-Joo Chang was…and then it turned out to be Jim Sturgess…duh! OK well not duh..but it explains why he looked good.

Anyways this film really leaves an impression on you. I don’t think it’s one of my favorite films but I admit that its very very well done. I’m not sure if I’d like to read the book either, I almost did buy it but now I don’t think I’d like to relive some of the stories. Because one of the plots showed too much blood, too much violence. I don’t know if that was entirely necessary.

Also, to be honest I don’t think I understood any of the plots except the dystopian one with the revolution. That one made the most sense to me as in I understood what was happening. OK and maybe the one with the journalist finding out the truth about the nuclear thing. Which was what the whole film is about, that you must not be afraid to fight or even die to let the truth be known(or something like that) and that your past and your present lives are interconnected.

This film tells a really confusing story but I’m sure I won’t be able to get it out of my head anytime soon.

Oh and the effects were really impressive and very well done. Although I may not understand the relevance of some and was really creeped out by a a few, I have to say that this is one hell of a film. A must see, but only once. I don’t think I can stomach it a second time.

I give this an 8/10.

Have you seen Cloud Atlas? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

