Movies to watch 2013


Movies that I look forward to in this remaining year.

      1. The Heat (out 27th June- in my country)

Starring Sandra Bullock as an FBI agent and Melissa McCarthy as a foul-mouthed cop, this unlikely team find themselves joining forces to catch the bad guy. Bullock’s character reminds me of her other film Ms. Congeniality albeit a bit more low key and less assertive. I first saw McCarthy in Bridesmaids and she was funny, with all her random comments. By watching the trailer it seems to guarantee a fun filled comedy. Can’t wait!

     2. Despicable Me 2 (out 4th of July)

The first movie was simply hilarious and so entertaining that the sequel has a lot to live up to. The trailer though does look promising. Steve Carell’s voice as Gru is really well done and props to him for being able to maintain it. He”s an impressive comedic actor. Plus the minions seem to play a bigger part in this film and that is smart of the filmmakers as the minions are probably half the attraction. (There really should be a film just of the minions)

     3. The Wolverine (out 25th July)

Hugh Jackman comes back as Wolverine in his own movie. To be honest the trailer doesn’t look  promising and the fantasy portion of it reminds me of Elektra, and that didn’t get much good reviews. I’m not expecting much from this film but I might be proven wrong.

      4.  R.I.P.D. (out 1st August)

Standing for Rest In Peace Department, this looks like an action packed comedy with Ryan Reynolds new to the department and teaming up with Jeff Bridges to hunt down the escaped souls who simply do not want to rest in peace. The escaped souls look really horrible and that’s the only part that’s putting me off, but other than that this looks good!

     5. about Time (out 3rd October) 

A movie about Tim (Domhnall Gleeson) who is told at the age of 21 that his family has been able to time travel (though this is exclusive to the males-Gender Bais!). From then on he meets Mary (Rachel McAdams) and tries to get it perfect. Also reminds me of The Time Traveler’s Wife which she also starred in. However here, Tim is able to control his time traveling. Looks good but I’m not sure it’d be as good as The Time Traveler’s Wife.

    6. Ender’s Game (out 31st October)

Based on the best selling book by Orson Scott Card, Ender’s Game is about a group of children who are trained to defeat the ‘Buggers’, an alien race. What a name for an alien race…it’s kind of like teaching children to swear. I read the book a few years ago and was very caught up in it and its sequels. However that was a long time ago and I can’t recall much about it so I’m looking forward to watching this.

      7. Thor: The Dark World (out 31st October)

After the first Thor movie and then the Avengers, I’m not really sure if the sequels are placed after the events that happened in the Avengers. I know for Iron Man 3 it did but what about the rest? This doesn’t really look like it and I’m not sure Captain America; The Winter Soldier will be either because these two worlds are not as modern or don’t seem to be. Or maybe it just seems that way because Thor will be fighting other worlds… Anyways looking forward to it!

    8. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (out 26th December)

I’m quite surprised the trailer hasn’t come out for this yet so I can’t say much, however I have read the short story of the same name written by James Thurber and it does seem interesting. Not sure if Ben Stiller can pull it off, but he does seem able to play crazy roles – I’m referring to his guest appearance in Friends. Yeap, this is going to be interesting.

 

So there you have it, 8 films that I’m looking forward to watch this year.I’m hoping to watch no. 1, The Heat this coming Friday.

Leave a Reply

