V for Vendetta (2005) Review


Verdict: AWESOME

Unexpectedly impressive. A superb and moving story.

Review:

To be honest when I watched the trailer, I was feeling a bit doubtful as to whether I would enjoy it because of the overall expressionistic atmosphere of the film, as well as the guy wearing the mask. I hate the Joker. I can’t even look at a picture of him for too long, creeps me out. In this film however, it is a mask not make-up, so his face didn’t move at all so that wasn’t too bad. Anyways, now that I’ve watched it, I am very glad that I did. It was really really impressive and much more than I thought it would be.

V (Hugo Weaving) is a freedom fighter who does what it takes to get justice, no matter how many lives he has to take. -That part I didn’t like so much; all the killing.

One night he saves Evey (Natalie Portman) from the “Fingermen” (Secret Police) and that is the start of an unlikely friendship ending very predictably (kind of) but very sadly as well.

The cinematography, editing, acting, all were superb and gave off a very expressionistic feel (as I’ve mentioned before). If you don’t know what I mean by ‘expressionistic’, it basically means that its dark. This is also a very deep film, as it goes into a very sensitive area that is, is the government having too much power? (Much like Big Brother)

In addition, though I thought the mask would creep me out, it didn’t as much because of how much charisma and cheek the character has. When he first speaks to Evey, he sprouts out long sentences using words starting with the letter ‘v’ and to be honest I had no idea what he was talking about. But throughout the film he continues to speak in riddles and it adds a comedic effect, which helps the audience to like him.

Also, most effects were really good, however the blood was quite noticeably fake and I could have made do without that effect.

Oh and another thing, how did V get so strong/ skilled? I don’t think we are given knowledge of his life before he went into Larkhill (detention center) so…did the experiments make him stronger or something? I don’t know, a bit of a flaw there.

Overall a really impressive piece of art.

I give this a 9/10.

Have you watched V for VendettaRate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

