Iron Man 3 (2013) Review


Woohoo. I’ve finally managed to watch Iron Man 3 after 2 weeks of trying to find someone to watch it with me. I think the Universe doesn’t want me to watch it because when I got into the cinema they played the wrong movie….Instead Star Trek was showing and I was confused so I asked the other people there if they were here to watch Iron Man and they were. One guy said it was a 10 minute preview but it turned out not to be because the technician came and we stared at a blank screen for awhile before he could get it going again.

Anyways it was pretty awesome. And the trailer doesn’t give much away which is a good thing, but then again its very shallow. Which I guess is what a trailer is supposed to show- the surface of the film.

In the film, Tony Stark oh so wonderfully and arrogantly tells reporters his home address to get the “Mandarin” to come after him. Stupidity 101. Tell your enemies where you live. And so they completely obliterate his cool-ass Malibu house on the cliff.

The story-line was pretty good and the action scenes were well done.The ending was especially good- I loved it. Though my brother had a problem with a girl saving a guy but I think that’s more of his having an ego problem than anything else. That part was really cool, for me.

Problems: 2 stereotypes in this film which should be taken out of all American films: the evil guy is called the ‘Mandarin’. First of all the dude isn’t even Chinese and second of all that’s implying that Chinese people are evil. The second stereotype is that they went to Pakistan and the Middle East to look for the ‘Mandarin’ which encourages discrimination against Muslims/ Pakistani. Not cool.

Also this film introduces a few new characters  who have relatively big roles, however we only have a glimpse of their background so there was’t much development of those new characters. But it still worked I guess. In addition, though the twist was a good one and wasn’t expected, it didn’t go into much detail. It just doesn’t really seem believable to me, his two personas. Plus some lines were pretty cliche.

Overall, I give this an 8/10. The epic conclusion made up for the rest.

Have you watched ‘Iron Man 3’? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

P.S. Did you see Gwyneth Paltrow’s abs? phhewwww

Leave a Reply

