Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) Review


Captain America is set in the 1940’s with soldiers fighting against Hydra, a research department of Nazi Germany, headed by Johann Schmidt A.K.A. the Red Skull (Hugo Weaving).

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but Captain America is my favorite superhero from the Avengers. He might not be the strongest but he’s definitely the most dashing. 😉

Anyways Steve Rogers is a scrawny looking kid from Brooklyn who just wants to fight for his country. However his weak body gets him rejected 5 times. But then Dr. Erskine (Stanley Tucci) overhears him talking to his pal Bucky (Sebastian Stan) saying he’s going to try and enlist again. Dr. Erskine gives him a chance and chooses him to become the next super-soldier. Voila, Captain America is born with a fantastic view of Chris Evan’s body as his transformation finishes. Hayley Atwell plays Peggy Carter and her first encounter with him after his transformation is simply hilarious.

Also I am really partial to olden type films, so maybe that’s why I like Captain America more than the rest. Atwell and Evans were really good in this film as they had me believing it was the 1940’s. The other soldiers like Neal McDonough didn’t really seem to me as belonging to that time.

Yeap, Chris Evans is now one of my favorite actors, mainly because of Captain America. But I did see him in The Nanny Diaries- he looked better there. He looks a bit weird in this film…even after the transformation. Yea….I don’t know.

And I actually teared when Colonel Phillips threw the dummy grenade and he lay on top of it. LOL. I didn’t cry the first time but then I was at home watching alone this time around…

The only thing that I had a problem with was the ending. This video basically sums up the whole gist of it:

So I give this an 8/10.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier is coming out next year! Can’t wait!

Have you watched ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

