The Host (2013) Review


Based on the book of the same name by Stephenie Meyer, The Host tells of a story where aliens invade humans, literally. These species gets implanted into the neck where it attaches itself to the brain and therefore take over the human’s body. Wanderer is put into Melanie Stryder’s (Saoirse Ronan) body, however Melanie wont go down without a fight. Her love for her younger brother, Jamie (Chandler Canterbury) and lover, Jared Howe (Max Iron) gives her motivation to resist the host. If she lets Wanderer find out where they are, the seekers would hunt them down.

I was pretty satisfied with the movie, as it mainly followed the book, though some parts had to be cut, I guess it would have been too long if it followed exactly. I don’t know if I was expecting something like Twilight with the bad acting, but thank god it didn’t turn out that way. The acting in this film was good, and the conversation with Melanie and Wanda was done really well.

However, I watched this in the cinema and being in the country where I’m from…all but the last kissing scene was cut. That did not bode well with me. Not that I like to watch people kiss much but it just kind of made the film choppy and that annoyed me. I mean its not like they were kissing really intensely or anything…were they? Maybe they were. ARGH

I’ll have to watch it again. Not in the cinema.

Anyways The Seeker (Diane Kruger) really looked kinda crazy with her obsession in chasing after Wanda and Melanie. Oh, and all the vehicles were silver. It looked cool but at the same time kind of plain- since all of them were like that. OH and and, the supermarket was called….’Store’. Sorry just had to point that out, I laughed when I saw that. =D

Jake Abel is also in this and he plays Ian, he looks pretty dashing 😉 and he fits the character of Ian quite perfectly. Although he didn’t go shirtless…in the book he did. I was looking forward to that.

Well overall, I give this a 8/10.

If I hadn’t read the book I think I might have been a bit lost, so I suggest you read the book before watching this!

Have you watched ‘The Host’? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

