Side Effects (2013) Review


I was actually quite reluctant to watch this movie after seeing the trailer as it looked quite creepy. I wasn’t wrong, however it was better than expected. The only reason I watched this was because my mom wanted to so I accompanied her.

Jude Law plays a psychiatrist, Dr.Banks and comes across Emily Taylor (Rooney Mara) after she makes a suicide attempt. She then becomes his patient but everything goes wrong after Emily kills her husband in her sleepwalk-one of the side effects of Ablixa, one of the drugs that Dr. Banks prescribes to her. Their lives spiral out of control however many twists pop up and it keeps the audience awake.

Honestly, I was not expecting what happened to happen. I was quite taken by surprise and when the film was over I was still quite confused as to what actually happened- in terms of who was the good and who was the bad guy. I guess that reflects well on the human race.

I think maybe it could have been a tad faster- to get to the point. the 2nd half was more interesting to me than the first. The first half confused me somewhat and I had no idea where the story was going.

But really the film overall plays with your mind- kind of like Inception. It was well put together ( the trailer too, that was good) and had quite a credible cast: Jude Law, Rooney Mara, Channing Tatum (Plays Emily’s wife) and Catherine Zeta-Jones (another psychiatrist) though I didn’t really like Catherine Zeta-Jones’ in this movie.

Overall I give it a 7/10.

Have you watched ‘Side Effects’? Rate it our of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

