The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) Review


Having read the book I can safely say that the film adaptation really follows the book closely, probably because the author, Stephen Chbosky wrote the screenplay and directed the film.

Logan Lerman plays Charlie, the introverted high-school freshman and I have got to say that Logan did a really good job in this one. I’ve only ever seen him in Percy Jackson and that was like…meh. But in this film you could really feel the character of Charlie, he did a spot-on job and brought the character justice.

Emma Watson plays Sam, and Ezra Miller plays her step brother, Patrick and these two become Charlie’s closest friends. I think you can pretty much get what the film’s about from the trailer, kind of. Since I’ve wrote a review for the book its going to pretty much the same for the movie, so I’m not going to write that again.

But I will say this, when I finished the book, the ending still had me a bit confused as to what had happened when he was younger. Surprisingly I don’t really remember much of an Aunt Helen…maybe it was just too long ago that I’ve read  it, about a year ago. Anyways the film gave me a better ending than the book, and an insight as to what happened. I had to think for awhile after the movie ended for it to really sink it until I got it. I’m still a bit confused but I think I got it…hopefully.

Well I rate this an 8/10.

Have you watched ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

