Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters (2013) Review


OK, so normally I wouldn’t watch this kind of horror movie especially since its rated 18 and above in my country. However I heard a lot of good reviews about it and I have to say, this was pretty good.

Hansel & Gretel who were once just a story about 2 kids who escaped a cannibalistic witch, now they have turned out to be witch hunters. Really quite a logical profession to go into taking into account their past.

Anyways Hansel (Jeremy Renner) and Gretel (Gemma Arteton) are just so bad-ass in this movie that its pretty awesome! Well I’m not one for all the gory details (there are a lot) and of the hideous witch make-up which I guess would mean that its exceptional…Also, I’m not really one for cursing but at the right times it is pretty funny, as was shown in this film.

Although I missed a bit of the beginning, I was running late and the cinema was so dark that I couldn’t see where I was going or the seat numbers…so it took awhile to get to my seat. Anyways when I got in and it was so dark, the first thing I saw was the witch, and then I had a fleeting thought of what I was getting myself into. Well at least it was good or else I would have scarred my eyes for nothing. =]

Anyways, a really good film, a more adult version of the fairy tale and undoubtedly a more interesting story.

I give this an 8/10.

Have you watched “Hansel & Gretel: With Hunters”? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

