The Breakfast Club (1985) Review


Well, I’ve heard of this film before but never got around to watching it, and then when it was mentioned in Pitch Perfect, and my cousin said she cried while watching it, only then did I decide to actually take a look.

I was feeling somewhat incredulous because so many people said that they cried while watching this while what I got from the trailer was just 5 students in detention. But now that I watch it I kind of get why people cried, though I myself did not.

So these 5 students are all part of a stereotype; the popular girl (Molly Ringwald), the jock (Emilio Estevez), the nerd (Anthony Michael Hall), the quiet one (Ally Sheedy) and the rebel (Judd Nelson). All of them though on the surface may seem like they have nothing in common, soon find out that they may even have more things in common than they do with their actual friends and that I think is the reason why people were emotional during the film. When all 5 realized that they were more alike than different and that to remain friends in school would have been damageable to most of their reputations it raised a few arguments and some good points. But they got past that and became friends…or so I hope.

Although it did also confirm stereotypes because the nerd still didn’t get a girl in the end since there were 3 guys and 2 girls. Oh wells at least he made new friends.

So although it didn’t make me cry it was still pretty enjoyable and funny. Though one thing that I was kind of confused about is how the atmosphere would be like normal and then they suddenly started shouting and crying…it was like a bipolar atmosphere with bombs everywhere. Kind of confusing.

Anyways I give this a 7/10.

Have you watched ‘The Breakfast Club’? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

