The Impossible (2013) Review


A family decides to go to Thailand for their Christmas vacation when the 2004 tsunami hits. This is a true story of a family’s survival and even though we know the ending, the portrayal of what they went through is really captured on screen with so much emotion its just incredible. So since the acting was so good, I just have to name the main cast.

Maria Bennett (Naomi Watts) is the mother and this movie centers around her while her son Lucas (Tom Holland) helps her. This is Holland’s debut movie which is unbelievable because he along with Watts were exceptional. Henry (Ewan McGregor) is the father and he along with Thomas  (Samuel Joslin) and Simon (Oaklee Pendergast) try to find Maria and Lucas. Man, these kids are something else. Their innocence just makes it that much more real and that they were capable of showing such emotion -which I presume they have not gone through is just…amazing.

This should win awards of all kinds, and Naomi Watts and Tom Holland should win acting awards.

Natural disasters are the worst as it is impossible to prevent them, however as this family has shown; it is not impossible to survive after that.

As I don’t pray, my heart and thoughts goes to those who have passed due to the tsunami as well as other natural disasters.

I live in S.E. Asia but thankfully was not near the coast at the time, and thankfully my country is about as safe as you can get from natural disasters.

I think this movie was too good that my heart cried instead of my eyes. That is the only explanation I can give to me not crying.

I give this a 10/10.

Have you watched ‘The Impossible’ yet? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

