Les Miserables (2012) Review


Jean Valjean (Hugh Jackman) is a slave in 19th century France. However he has served his sentence and is now on parole, where he breaks it and runs from his identity and is chased after by Javert (Russell Crowe). 8 or so years later, he encounters Fantine (Anne Hathaway) who has a child in the care of a landlord somewhere whom she can barely support. He promises to look for the child and take care of her. The child, Corvette (Amanda Seyfried) grows up and a series of things happen which I cannot say unless I were to spoil it, but it has something to do with the French Revolution.

My first impression after watching this film was that it was kind of slow what with all the singing and a bit boring. However after thinking back and putting my feelings aside, it was a pretty good movie.

The singing actually enhanced the feelings of the characters as I feel the lyrics were very emotional and spot-on. I just wished they didn’t sing every single sentence. Although I know it is a musical but still…it’d be better if they maybe adapted it to film (in a better way) or something. Also since it was originally a theater production, there were quite a few story-lines (but mainly centering around Jean Valjean), and a lot of drama.

I give this an 8/10.

Have you watched ‘Les Miserables’? Rate it out of 5 stars above or leave a comment below!

P.S. Here was my favorite song from the film. Anne Hathaway is the bomb. So much emotion in this one I’m surprised I didn’t cry.

Oh and this one’s good too. =p Sung by Eponine (Samantha Barks). ❤ her voice.

P.S. =O I just realized! First movie of the year!!

Leave a Reply

